My oh my oh Meyer Lemons!

Tis the season for Meyer Lemons – that luscious, perfumed cross of an orange and a lemon. They are fragile, sweet and smell heavenly.OurMeyerLemons

As I walk around Lakewood and Long Beach there are many beautiful trees just full of these gems. A big thank you to those of you who’ve shared your fruit with me. In one yard I saw a hedge made of alternating dwarf Meyer lemons and grapefruits. Beautiful and yummy!

I’ve been enjoying the bounty of fruit that people are willing to share from their trees. So much so that I’m beginning to look for other things to do with them.

preserved-lemons7Of course I’ve preserved tons of them in salt for preserved lemons, that North African favorite. The first year I did this I used them very sparingly. Now almost everything in my kitchen gets a smattering of preserved lemon chunks from pedestrian tuna salad to exotic tagines. Any recipe that calls for Anchovy, capers, olives or pickles can be improved by preserved lemon.

This is one method I’ve found that works really well, http://hungrytigress.com/2011/02/my-favorite-preserved-lemons/ But simply packing cut lemons in salt and waiting for the magic to happen works just fine.

Lemon marmalade is surprisingly easy to make. If you like lots of peel try this method. http://eggbeater.typepad.com/shuna/2010/05/lemon-marmalade-recipe.html

And of course there’s Limoncello, that delightful tart-sweet infused vodka drink. I’ve got a gallon of peels and vodka in my pantry brewing now. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/limoncello-recipe.html

As I walk around Lakewood and Long Beach I see many beautiful trees just full of these gems. A big thank you to those of you who’ve shared your fruit with me. In one yard I saw a hedge made of alternating dwarf Meyer lemons and grapefruits. Beautiful and yummy!

If you haven’t tried using them, you’re really missing out. For just a few more ideas check http://www.latimes.com/features/la-fo-meyerlemons16jan16,0,5003872.story

Please share your ideas with me too. I’m always on the lookout

Leave a Reply

